History

Mineralogical Museum of Abitibi-Témiscamingue (Malartic)

In 1972, imagined by the Industrial Commission of Malartic, reinforced by original ideas from Mr. Paul Dorion, and supported by numerous volunteers, a mining museum is born in an ancient protestant church. We exhibited, in this mining museum, objects related to the mines. To better represent the reality of the miners, volunteers transformed the basement of the building into an experience simulating a descent in an underground mine.

 

In 1979, a new museum is built on the emplacement of the old one. Major construction works are made. The museum gets its accreditation from the Ministry of Cultural Affairs et now bears the name of Regional Mining & Arts Museum of Malartic. The institution had a double mandate to inform the public on the reality of the regional mines and to present exhibitions based on visual and artisanal art unique to the region. 

 

In 1984, the museum, in association with the mining company Minerais Lac, transforms its exhibition by putting emphasis on the process of the transformation of the minerals. We explained here the various steps that a mineral has to go through in order to become a gold brick.

 

In 1989, the museum now presents a new exhibition following major renovations. The presentation is now separated in three exhibition rooms. In the first one, the visitor learns about the mineralogical diversity as well as the various steps of the transformation of the minerals. In the second one, an impressive international collection now captivates the visitors. Finally, untouched since 1972, the third room shows the simulated underground descent.  

 

In 1996, after a bit more than 30 years of operations, and following the opening of the Cité de l’Or, the decision is taken to give a breath of fresh air to the establishment. The Mineralogical Museum of Abitibi-Témiscamingue now preserved and highlighted the mineral and geological inheritance by presenting a regional and an international mineral collection.

 

In 2006, The Association minière du Québec (Quebec Mining Association) was happy to announce that it was gifting the entirety of the Du Roc au Métal exhibition to the Mineralogical Museum of Abitibi-Témiscamingue in Malartic. This nomad exhibit was developed with the collaboration of the Museum of Civilisation and numerous partners. The Quebec Mining Association wanted to permanently gift this exhibition to a regional museum. They proceeded to analyse the potential locations for it and its administrative council decided to select The Mineralogical Museum of Abitibi-Témiscamingue as its recipient. For the Mineralogical Museum, this important decision let the institution enhance the prestige of its collections by it being integrated to its permanent exhibit by the beginning of 2006. Du Roc au Métal perfectly fitted with the mission and the mandate showing the importance of the mineral resources and was an excellent tool to correctly inform the public on the role of the mining activities in the province.

 

In 2008, realisation of an important development project: a municipal library and a new exhibition room. It represented an investment of more than 2M$. After many months of construction and waiting, on October 24th, 2008, the city of Malartic and the members of the administrative council of the Museum were proud to officially open the municipal library and the new exhibition room. The Museum, with the accord of the municipal council, had erected a new library coupled with a new room for exhibitions. The library was now more spacious, giving better access to everybody, had a reading zone made for children, an internet service, and a greater number of books to increase the general quality of life of its users. For the Museum itself, the construction of a new room of 254 square meters equipped with facilities to house various exhibitions now answered an essential need of the collectivity. It also allowed the Museum to consolidate itself being a region-wide establishment. The construction of such a building, communicating with the museum, included a lot of advantages and cemented itself in the current tendency, regionally and nationally, to situate cultural elements and equipment in the same building in order to maximise the exploitation of these elements, reduce operation costs, and offer better services to visitors and clients.

 

In 2011, visits to the mine. The Mineralogical Museum, in collaboration with the Canadian Malartic Mine, announced that they would offer, for the summer period of 2011, the possibility to visit the installations of the biggest active open pit gold mine in Canada. Visiting this new generation mine also meant to experience the daily lives of the workers and to better understand the technological development of the industry. The Museum was named winner of the regional price for the best touristic attraction in 2012 thanks to the mine tours.

 

In 2012, rearrangement of a part of the permanent exhibition. An investment of 289 000$ was made. The project consisted in upgrading the general concept of the exhibition in two of the four rooms, both situated on the main level, by adapting them to new concepts linked to today’s realities.

 

The new scenario presented the following themes:

 

- Presentation of all the mining projects in Abitibi-Témiscamingue.

- Identification of mines currently in production, in development stages, as well as enhancement projects.

- Elaboration of better visuals for our collections of minerals.

- Computer station with a screen to create a modified image of the visitors on different backgrounds enabling them to send virtual postcards.  

- Creation of a functional earthquake simulator.

 

In the summer of 2014, it as decided to continue the already started work and to rejuvenate another important part of the permanent exhibition by rearranging several sections of rooms number 3 and 4. The museum developed themes and presented novelties in accord with its mission and linked to the existing exhibition.  This project amounted to 215 000$.

 

The new exhibition presented the following elements:

 

- Projection room on the Giga History. Presentation of information on a chronological scale and recounting of geological events that made the Earth what it is today and links to the region of Abitibi-Témiscamingue.  

- Geological samples field; updated & upgraded. This part of the exhibit made you discover the three main types of rock formations and their relevance to today’s minerals.

- Presentation of the main quarries in the province of Quebec and their produced minerals as well as the main uses of them.

- Presentation on rare earths: Their use and the resources that we try to explore currently in the province of Quebec.

- Construction of a passage; a walkable path showing minerals that have luminous properties such as phosphorescence and fluorescence.  

- Urban mine: This activity presents a game in the museum while a computer, a monitor, a cellphone, and a laptop are broken apart and are animated by the visitor to discover the minerals used in their fabrications.

 

In 2017, rearrangement of the permanent exhibition.  June 8th, 2017, the Minister of Culture and Communications of Québec, Mr. Luc Fortin announced that the museum would get a financial boon of 82 000 $ to cover for a part of the fees related to the realisation of the rearrangement of a part of the permanent exhibition. Indeed, only a single part of the exhibition was not renovated in the last 10 years. Covering 400 square feet, it transitions between two sections since it is situated at the beginning of room number 4: The Rock in All its States. It was part of an ancient exhibition realised back then by the Mining Association of Quebec in collaboration with the Museum of Civilisation. It was decided to renew it.  The arrangement of these spaces is somewhat limited, but it does not stop them from being grand, spectacular, and at the pinnacle of technology.  It was proposed to replace the section called ¨Du Roc au Métal¨ by a new one based on the different steps of the mining process.

 

In this new concept, the mining cycle is presented with the following themes:

 

- The exploration

- The lay-out

- The exploitation

- The closing and restoration of sites

 

This presentation is realised in the form of schematics, object presentations, videos, photos, and other graphical support. This new setup lets the Museum present 50 new pieces from the collections of the Museum including minerals, mining equipment, photos, and laboratory devices. The exhibition shows the importance of our mining resources, from prospection to transformation, going through extraction. It also shows the mineral resources and their use with the help of a mostly interactive approach. The project was completed in 2019.

 

In 2019, renewal of the partnership with the Canadian Malartic Mine. For the 9th straight year, following a renewal of the partnership with the mine, the museum continued to offer the unique opportunity to visit an active gold mine.

 

For 2022, at the eve of its 50th anniversary, the Museum is currently working on new projects to continue assuring its development.

Permanent
exhibit

The Abitibi-Temiscamingue presents a geology and regional mining project exhibit as well as minerals from around the world.

More details

Virtual
exhibitions

Three virtual exhibitions available.

More details

Temporary
exhibit

Gemstones or Not? Scientific Investigation until 2019, April.

More details

What's new at the museum

This virtual exhibit was inspired by the book Malartic, a look at 75 years of history, created by the museum during the 75th anniversary of the municipality of Malartic in 2013.

©2018-2022 Musée Minéralogique de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue - Intranet - Powered by Radium

Historique

 

Musée minéralogique de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue (Malartic)

En 1972, imaginé par la commission industrielle de Malartic, renforcé par des idées originales de M. Paul Dorion et soutenu par de nombreux bénévoles, un musée minier voit le jour dans une ancienne église protestante. On présente, dans ce musée minier, des objets relatifs au travail de la mine. Afin de mieux nous représenter la vie minière, les bénévoles transforment le sous-sol de l'établissement en une simulation de descente sous terre qui conduit le visiteur dans l'univers du travailleur minier.

En 1979, un nouveau musée s'érige à l'emplacement de l'ancien. On procède alors à des travaux de construction majeurs. Le musée reçoit son accréditation du ministère des Affaires culturelles, et porte le nom de Musée régional des mines et des arts de Malartic. Le double mandat de l'institution consiste en une part, à informer les gens sur la réalité minière régionale, et d'autre part à présenter des expositions à caractère artistique allant de l'exposition en art visuel à celle des produits artisanaux. 

En 1984, le musée, en association avec la compagnie minière Minerais Lac, bonifie son exposition en misant d'avantage sur le processus de transformation du minerai. On y explique les étapes de transformation que doit subir la matière minérale jusqu'à la conception d'une brique d'or. 

En 1989, le musée présente une nouvelle exposition à la suite d'importants travaux de réfection. Le concept d'interprétation se répartit en trois salles d'expositions.  Dans la première, le visiteur apprend la diversité minéralogique de la région ainsi que les étapes de transformation du minerai. Dans la seconde, l'impressionnante collection minéralogique à saveur internationale captive l'intérêt des visiteurs. Enfin, conservée depuis 1972, la troisième salle d'exposition nous dirige droit vers la descente simulée sous terre.  

En 1996, après plus de 30 ans d'opération, et suite à l’ouverture de la Cité de l’Or, on décide de donner un nouveau souffle à l'établissement. Le Musée minéralogique de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue préserve et met alors en valeur le patrimoine minéral et géologique par la présentation d’une collection régionale une collection internationale de minéraux.

En 2006, l’Association minière du Québec (AMQ) était heureuse de confirmer qu’elle faisait don en totalité de l’exposition Du roc au métal au Musée minéralogique de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue (Malartic). Cette exposition itinérante, développée en collaboration avec le Musée de la civilisation et de nombreux partenaires. L’Association minière du Québec qui souhaitait remettre cette exposition en permanence à un musée régional a procédé à l’analyse des sites potentiels et les membres de son conseil d’administration ont décidé d’octroyer l’exposition au Musée minéralogique de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue (Malartic) Pour le Musée minéralogique, cette importante acquisition a permis à l’institution de rehausser encore davantage le prestige de ses collections puisqu’elle a été intégrée au début de l’année 2006 à l’exposition permanente. Du Roc au métal concorde parfaitement avec la mission et le mandat de bien faire connaître l’importance des ressources minérales et s’avère un outil essentiel pour bien informer la clientèle sur le rôle de l’activité minière au Québec. 

En 2008, réalisation d’un important projet de développement : Bibliothèque et nouvelle salle d’exposition au musée.  Investissement de plus de 2M $.  Après plusieurs mois de travail et d’années d’attente, la ville de Malartic et les membres du conseil d’administration du Musée minéralogique de Malartic étaient heureux,  le 24 octobre 2008, de procéder à  l’ouverture officielle  de la bibliothèque municipale et de la  nouvelle salle d’exposition du musée. Le Musée minéralogique, de concert avec les élus municipaux, ont donc aménagé sur le terrain du musée une bibliothèque municipale doublée d'une nouvelle salle d’exposition. La bibliothèque est maintenant dotée d’espaces beaucoup plus spacieux, favorisant l’accès universel de ses locaux, une zone de lecture pour enfant, service internet et un plus grand nombre de volumes améliorant ainsi la qualité de vie des gens de Malartic et des environs. Pour le musée, la construction de la nouvelle salle d’exposition d’une dimension de 254 mètres carrés, est munie d’équipements nécessaires pour la présentation d’expositions diversifiées répondant ainsi à un besoin essentiel auprès de la collectivité et permet au musée de consolider encore davantage sa place en tant que musée régional. La construction d'un tel édifice, communiquant avec le musée, comporte de nombreux avantages et s'inscrit dans la tendance actuelle, tant au plan régional que national, de situer les équipements culturels à un même endroit afin d'en tirer une exploitation maximale, de réduire les coûts d'opération et d'offrir un meilleur service à la clientèle.

En 2011, visites à la mine. Le Musée minéralogique, en collaboration avec la Mine Canadian Malartic, annonçait qu’ils offraient pour la période touristique 2011, la possibilié de visiter les installations de la plus grande mine d'or à ciel ouvert au pays en exploitation. Visiter cette minière nouvelle génération, c’est également de vivre le quotidien de ses nombreux travailleurs et de mieux connaître le développement technologique de cette industrie. Le musée, fut grand gagnant du Prix régional attraction touristique 2012 grâce aux visites de la minière.

En 2012 . Réaménagement d’une partie de l’exposition permanente. Investissement de 289 000 $. Le projet consistait à améliorer le concept de l’exposition permanente dans deux (2) des quatre (4) salles, situées toutes les deux au rez-de-chaussée, en développant de nouveaux concepts adaptés aux réalités d’aujourd’hui.  

Le nouveau scénario regroupe les thématiques suivantes :

- Présentation de tous les projets d’exploration minière en Abitibi-Témiscamingue ;
- Identification des mines en production, en développement ainsi que les projets de mise en valeur ;
- Élaboration d’une meilleure représentation visuelle de nos collections de minéraux ;
- Station informatique avec écran pour juxtaposer l’image du visiteur et ainsi présenter une carte postale virtuelle.
- Création d’une station sismique fonctionnelle ;

À l’été 2014, il convenait de continuer le travail déjà amorcé et de renouveler une autre partie importante de l’exposition permanente en réaménageant cette fois certaines sections des salles 3 et 4. Le musée a développé des thématiques et présenté des nouveautés en accord avec sa mission et en lien avec l’exposition existante. Ce projet a totalisé 215 000 $.

La nouvelle exposition présente les éléments suivants :

- Salle de projection giga histoire. Présentation des informations sur les échelles chronologiques et récits des événements géologiques du temps qui ont façonné la terre et le territoire de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue.
- Champs de carottes géologiques; mise à jour et mise à niveau. Cette partie de l’exposition nous fait découvrir les trois grands types de formation des roches et leur lien avec les minéraux d’aujourd’hui.
- Mise en exposition des principaux minéraux et carrières de pierres du Québec et leurs utilisations.
- Présentation des terres rares. Expliquer leur composition, leurs utilités et les ressources que nous sommes à explorer présentement au Québec.
- Construction d’un passage avec une armoire pour présenter des minéraux qui ont des pouvoirs lumineux comme la fluorescence et la phosphorescence.
- Mine urbaine ; cette activité donne lieu à un jeu dans le musée alors qu’un ordinateur, un écran, un portable et un cellulaire ont été éventrés et sont animés par le visiteur pour découvrir les minéraux utilisés dans leur fabrication.

En 2017, réaménagement de l’exposition permanente. Le 8 juin 2017, le ministre de la Culture et des Communications du Québec, M. Luc Fortin annonçait au musée une aide financière de 82 000 $ pour couvrir une partie des frais reliés à la réalisation du projet de réaménagement d’un segment de l’exposition permanente. En effet, une seule partie de l’exposition permanente du musée n’a pas été renouvelée depuis les 10 dernières années. D’une superficie de 400 pieds carrés, elle fait la transition entre 2 sections puisqu’elle est à l’entrée de la salle no 4 ; La pierre dans tous ses états. Elle est une partie d’une ancienne exposition réalisée à l’époque par l’Association minière du Québec en collaboration avec le Musée de la Civilisation. Il convenait de la renouveler. L’aménagement de ces espaces bien que limité, est grandiose, spectaculaire et à la fine pointe de la technologie. Il a été proposé de remplacer la section intitulée ¨Du roc au métal¨ par une nouvelle section ayant pour thématique le processus minier. 

Dans ce nouveau concept, le cycle minier est présenté par les thèmes suivants :  

- l’exploration
- l’aménagement
- l’exploitation minière
- la fermeture et la restauration de sites

Cette présentation est réalisée sous forme de schémas, présentation d’objets, vidéos, photos et autres supports graphiques. Ce nouvel aménagement permet de mettre en exposition quelques cinquante (50) nouvelles pièces des collections du musée. (Minéraux et équipements miniers, photos et appareils de laboratoire, etc.). L’exposition rend ainsi compte de l’importance de nos ressources minières, de la prospection à la transformation, en passant par l’extraction. Elle présente également les ressources minérales et leurs utilités au moyen d’une approche principalement interactive. Le projet a finalement été complété en 2019.

En 2019, renouvellement du partenariat avec la Mine Canadian Malartic. Pour une 9e année consécutive, suite à un renouvellement de son partenariat avec la minière, le musée continuait d’offrir cette opportunité unique de visiter une véritable mine d’or en opération. 

Pour 2022, à l’aube de son 50e anniversaire, le musée travail à la réalisation de nouveaux projets pour continuer d’assurer son développement. 

 

 

 

 

Exposition
permanente

Le Musée minéralogique de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue présente une exposition sur la géologie est les projets miniers de la région ainsi que des minéraux provenant de partout dans le monde.

En savoir plus

Expositions
virtuelles

Trois expositions virtuelles disponibles.

En savoir plus

Exposition
temporaire

Exposition Minéraux; plus de 90 spécimens spectaculaires provenant des collections nationales canadiennes.

En savoir plus

Nouveautés au musée

Cette exposition virtuelle est inspirée du livre Malartic, un regard sur 75 ans d’histoire, réalisés par le musée dans le cadre des fêtes du 75e de la municipalité il y a 5 ans.

©2018-2022 Musée Minéralogique de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue - Intranet - Propulsé par Radium